And the winner is…..mom?!

Standard

Ok…so this is what I have been up to the last few days. Second grade project….a “family project” to be exact. This kind of stuff  is a hassle at first, then once I get into it, I want it to be the best. I actually think “family projects” are rather ridiculous because ultimately you are going to have some families that go all out and others that simply don’t care and send their kid to school with something less than mediocre, only resulting in embarassment for the kid. I just wish teachers would put out a box of odds and ends in class and would then encourage the kids to create their own projects. For starters, I really don’t have much free time to put into a project like this and second, it’s basically like me re-living 1986 back at Ella Canavan Elementary. This is not my son’s project….it’s mine. Ok…he colored the teepee, but that’s it. Gotta give credit where credit is due.

You probably can’t tell from the photo, but the teepee is complete with a fringed “buffalo skin” rug inside, the fire has flames and smoke and there is a fish being smoked over the fire.  Did Indians even smoke fish?!  I have no idea but it makes for a good project, right?!  And the brown piece of felt hanging on the drying rack thing. My wonderful hubby’s idea. The initial plan was to hang a real piece of animal fur from it, however, there was none to be had. My willing-to-do-anything for me husband asked if I would like him to go kill a squirrel or if he should stop and cut a hunk of deer skin/fur off of a piece of roadkill. I even contemplated going back to my youngest son’s preschool to hunt down a random squirrel tail I saw near the playground last week. When this conversation was going on, I had to take a step back and realize we are talking about a second grade project here. There is no need to resort to killing small animals or seeking out roadkill to ensure our son gets an A. In fact, this project isn’t even for a grade now that I think about it. It is simply to inspire my son for a writing assignment.

When my 2nd grader checked out the finished product, his response was “Mom, you’re good at everything!”.  Hey, that’s an A in my book.  I’ll take it!

2 responses »

  1. OMG this is laugh out loud funny. I remember the molecule Olivia had to turn in and you were happy because you got an A in that project as well. Then made her keep it in her closet because you were too attached to throw it away.
    Up and Atom!!

    Job well done and you are pretty good at EVERYTHING!!!

Leave a Reply

