Happy Thanksgiving!

Standard

Just a quick post at the end of a busy day.  It was a wonderful Thanksgiving, just the six of us at home by ourselves.  While is is always nice to be surrounded by extended family on the holidays, it was equally as nice to spend the day in the quiet solitude of home, just the two of us and our kiddos.

The food was great, and except for finding the bag of giblets inside the turkey AFTER it was cooked, the day was a success.  I even looked for the giblets and didn’t see them and I was not about to stick my hand inside the bird to feel for them.  I rinsed it out several times, but they never came out, so I assumed that they weren’t there.  Sad thing is, I’ve done this before!  It was years ago, but still.  The turkey was great nonetheless.

I am thankful for so many things.  My husband and children, our health, extended family and the best friends a girl could ever hope for, just to name a few.  I am beyond thankful that God sent His only son to die on the cross for my sins and so that I may have eternal life in Heaven.  This makes me smile even more today because this is the first Thanksgiving without my Aunt Barb who died this past August.  I know she is in Heaven and I rejoice in knowing I will see her and all my other loved ones again someday.

Speaking of my Aunt Barb (who was the life of every party!), I will tell you a funny Thanksgiving story about her.  When I was in high school, we were all gathering at my grandparents house for Thanksgiving.  Barb was bringing a few things that day, one of them being gravy.  She made the gravy and had it cooling on her kitchen counter.  She gave it one last stir before covering it to bring it to my grandparents house and noticed a lump in it.  She scooped the lump out and noticed it was a mouse!!!  Apparently a mouse had run across the counter and crawled in the gravy and drowned!!  I would’ve been so embarrassed that I would never have told a soul, however, we are talking about my Aunt Barb, the woman who had no secrets.  The woman who laughed until she cried when she was telling us the story.  I have always loved this story and she and I would talk about “mouse gravy” every single Thanksgiving.  I got teary today knowing that we couldn’t talk about it like we always did, but I had to smile at her memory.  I am sincerely thankful for all the years I did have with her.

I hope you all had a blessed Thanksgiving and that you took some time to reflect on the many things you have to be thankful for.  Even when things aren’t the best, we still have so much to be thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

