Diversity….it makes the world go ’round

Standard

I wanted to write an entry for the observance of Martin Luther King, Jr’s birthday.  It’s a little late, but better than never, right?!

This picture says it all.  There is no one color to represent “flesh”.  Even my sister and I are total opposites when it comes to skin color.  I’m fair complected, red hair and green eyes.  I can think about the sun and burn.  My sister has very dark skin, brown hair and brown eyes.  Light could trickle through the car window and she would be even more toasty brown than she already is.

I LOVE diversity.

I think one of the biggest injustices any parent can do for their child is not exposing them to diversity.  I grew up in a community that was very diverse.  I am truly thankful that I grew up with friends of different races and ethnic backgrounds than my own.  My husband grew up in a very small Midwestern town, with only white people.  Essentially everyone was the same.  Some had more money than others, but that was their biggest difference.  The first time he had any contact with anyone from another race was when he went away to college.

We try on a constant basis to teach our kids the importance of diversity and respecting and loving those differences.  I honestly can’t imagine judging someone due to the color of their skin and pray that we are raising our children to think the same way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

