Best childbirth book EVER!!

Standard

Out of my 6 births, I’ve had 4 homebirths, each attended by a midwife (well, except my youngest son, who decided to arrive BEFORE my midwife could get there…more on that later).  When my husband and I first looked into homebirth, our midwife recommended that we read this book to help us prepare.  This book is not only great for parents who desire a homebirth, but for any parent who desires to be fully educated on birth in general.  This is always on my “must read” list for people who ask me for reading material on birth.

My homebirths were not a result of being afraid of hospitals, but rather the result of being highly educated about the dangers of hospital birth.  I fully support hospital births when they are necessary.  For crying out loud, I had to have a c-section with the twins because baby boy was breech.  I wasn’t at all happy about it, but it was necessary I suppose.  I’m not saying that homebirth is for everyone.  I definitely think it isn’t for everyone.  My personal belief is that God made my body to safely deliver my babies in the most pure and natural form.  I prefer a 100% intervention free birth.  It’s what’s best for me and my babies.  That doesn’t at all mean it is best for other people and I fully respect every woman’s decision to birth the way she feels is best.

No matter what your birthing style might be, I highly recommend this book if you are pregnant, are planning on becoming pregnant, or if you know someone who is pregnant (great gift idea!).  It opened my eyes to so many things I had never thought of before reading it.  I feel confident  you will enjoy it no matter what your stance on birth is.

P.S.  My favorite site to buy books from is half.com.  You can find super great deals on new and used books, sometimes for as little as 75 cents a piece!

Leave a Reply

