Our daughter is officially a teenager!

Standard

Our daughter’s 13th birthday is today!  Here we are….the parents of a teenager!  Really?! Where have the years gone?!  Some days it literally feels like yesterday that I was holding this beautiful little baby girl in my arms for the first time, trying to memorize every detail about her.  I look at her now and admire her independence, bravery, courage, drive and compassion for others.  I am proud of all the things she possesses that I do not.  For instance, new situations do not intimidate her in the least.  Most of the time I am a big chicken when it comes to things that are unfamiliar to me.

She is an amazing student, having straight A’s for the entire school year yet again.  She is determined, even at 13, to get a full scholarship to an out of state college.  When I was her age I wasn’t even thinking college or what I wanted to do with the rest of my life.  This girl has a plan and I fully expect her to follow it through.

I remember when my midwife was leaving after our oldest son’s homebirth.  She walked out the door then immediately came back in.  She looked me in the eye and said “Your daughter is going to do great things in her lifetime…..wait and see”, then she turned and walked out again.  I have to say that I couldn’t agree more.  I’m excited to see where God leads this beautiful young lady of a daughter that He has blessed us with.

Happy 13th birthday to our precious daughter!  You are a gift and we love you beyond anything you could ever imagine.

P.S.  We surprised her with a gift certificate for an hour long hot air balloon ride.  When we take her to go on the ride, I will be sure to post everything about it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

